Sunday, April 28, 2013

2013 Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy Winner

2013 Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy Winner
(NHL Leader in Goals scored)

Alexander Ovechkin
(3 time winner, 2008, 2009 and 2013)
Washington Capitals
32 goals

Thursday, April 25, 2013

2013 President's Trophy

The Chicago Blackhawks have clinched the 2013 Presidents’ Trophy, given annually to the National Hockey League team that accumulates the most points during the regular season. 
This marks the second Presidents’ Trophy (created for the 1985-86 season) in Blackhawks history (1990-91) and the fourth time overall that the team has finished atop the NHL standings (1966-67, 1969-70, 1990-91). 
 The Blackhawks previously clinched the Central Division Championship and the top seed in the Western Conference, and are now ensured home-ice advantage throughout the 2013 Stanley Cup playoffs. 
Chicago currently owns a league-high 75 points, is tied for the league lead with 35 wins (35-6-5) and is the only team in the NHL without double-digit regulation losses this season. 
 The 2013 Stanley Cup playoffs begin on Tuesday, April 30. A complete first-round schedule will be released at the conclusion of the regular season.

They clinched it with a win over the Edmonton Oilers

Sunday, April 14, 2013

NCAA Men Division 1 Hockey Champions 2013

The Yale Bulldogs won their first Division 1 men's ice hockey national championship last night (April 13th 2003) with a 4-0 shutout of the #1 ranked Quinnipiac Bobcats.

Friday, April 12, 2013

ECHL Week April 12 2013

2013 Mens NCAA Hockey Championship

This year the NCAA Men's Division 1 Hockey championship game with be an all Connecticut final, with Yale meeting Quinnipiac.

The final game is Saturday night (April 13th) on ESPN 7pm.

Yale defeated UMass-Lowell 3-2 and then Quinnipiac defeated St. Cloud State by a score of 4-1.

Thursday, April 11, 2013

NCAA Men's Frozen Four 2013 Game 1

Game 1 of the 2013 Frozen Four

Final (OT)
April 11, 2013, 4:30 ET, CONSOL Energy Center Pittsburgh Pa.
Box ScoreScoringPlay-By-Play

Saturday, April 6, 2013

2013 NCAA Frozen Four

This year's NCAA Men's College Hockey Frozen Four is at the Consol Energy Center in Pittsburgh PA.  Home to the NHL's  Pittsburgh Penguins.

The Frozen Four semi final games are on Thursday April 11th.

Game One
#1 Quinnipiac Bobcats
St. Cloud State Huskies

Game Two
#3 U Mass.- Lowell RiverHawks
Yale Bulldogs

There will be a first time winner this year.  Only one team has been to the Frozen Four before, Yale, which was in the Frozen Four in 1952 (4th place).

The 2014 Frozen Four will be held at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia.

Hobey Baker Award 2013 (Top Three Finalists)

The three finalists for The Hobey Baker Award as the best college hockey player in the United States are:

read the full rundown of these there here

Johnny Gaudreau - Boston College
Sophomore, forward

Eric Hartzell - Quinnipiac University
Senior, goalie

Drew LeBlanc - St Cloud State University
Senior, forward

The winner of the 2013 Hobey Baker award will be announced Friday April 12th at 6pm.  It can be seen on the NHL network and at the Hobey Baker Award website

Top Ten Goals of the Week

The week ending April 6th 2013
Top Ten Goals