Monday, September 23, 2013

Sabres and Leafs Brawl (09/22/2013)

Last night the Leafs and Sabres had a brawl involving everyone on the ice including the goalies.  My personal opinion is that Phil Kessel is a coward and a prick for using his stick.  I would be happy to see him get suspended for the entire month of October and teach him a lesson.

As of today no suspensions have been handed down

Thursday, September 19, 2013

2009-2010 NHL President's Trophy

Alex Ovechkin accepts the 2009-2010 President's Trophy for the Washington Capitals.

The Capitals finished that season with 54 wins 15 losses and 13 Overtime losses for 121 points.   The met the Montreal Canadiens in the first round of the playoffs and lost 4 games to 3.

Ovechkin finished 2nd in goals with 50 behind the 51 of Sidney Crosby and Steven Stamkos, he was tied for 2nd in points with Sidney Crosby with 109.

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

1963-1965 Norris Trophy Winner - Pierre Pilote

Pierre Pilote of the Chicago Blackhawks won 3 consecutive Norris Trophies as the Best NHL Defenseman from 1963 to 1965 and was team Captain from 1961-1968.  He also was runner up for the Norris trophy in 1962,1966 and 1967,

Pilote was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1975 and in 1998 he was ranked #59  on the Hockey News list of the 100 Greatest Hockey Players.

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

We Love the WHA

Indianapolis Racer's goaltender Michel Dion on the cover of the Racers 1976-77 media guide.  This was after Michele joined the team for the last 31 games of 1975-76 season and helped lead them to the Eastern Division title.  Michel would win the Ben Hatskin Trophy as the WHA's top goaltender for the regular season after getting 14 wins in those last 31 games.

The Ben Hatskin Trophy was named in honor of the founder of the Winnipeg Jets...Ben Hatskin

Sunday, September 8, 2013

We Love Gretzky!

The Great One's career stats and NHL records he holds.

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Buffalo Sabres 1983 Entry Draft

The Class of 1983 for the Buffalo Sabres

From left 
1st pick and 5th overall Tom Barrasso, John Tucker, GMScotty Bowman,  2nd pick and 10th overall Normand Lacombe and 11th overall Adam Creighton.

Tom Barrasso would start in net for the Sabres in 1983-84 and was the only goalie to ever play in the NHL direct from High school without playing in the major juniors, college or some other form of professional hockey.  He would win the the Calder Trophy as NHL Rookie of the Year and the Vezina Trophy as the NHL's top goaltender for 1983-84 with a record of 26-12-3 and a 2.84 GAA.
In 1985 he would win the Jennings Trophy for the team with the  fewest goals allowed (he shared with backup Bob Sauve) with 144.

Sunday, September 1, 2013

2010 Men's Olympic Hockey Gold Medal Game

Men's Olympic Ice Hockey
Gold Medal Game
Canada Hockey Place
Vancouver,  BC
February 28th 2010

United States