Saturday, August 16, 2014

Bobby Hull 50th and 51st Goals

March 1966
Bobby Hull scores his 50th and 51st goals of the season against
the NY Rangers, he would finish the season with a then record of 54 goals in a season.

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Today in Hockey History (August 7th)

August 7th 1992

The Buffalo Sabres aquired goaltender Dominik Hasek from the Chicago Blackhawks.  He would go on to win back to back Hart Trophies as NHL MVP in 1997 and 1998 along with 6 Vezina Trophies as the top NHL goaltender 
(1994,'95,'97,'98,'99 and 2001).

Monday, July 14, 2014

1987 and 1988 Jack Adams Trophy

Jacque Demers is to date the first and only coach to win back to back Jack Adams Trophies as NHL Coach of the Year.  He won the 1987 and 1988 Awards as head coach of the Detroit Redwings.   In these 2 seasons he guided the Red Wings to consecutive Campbell Conference Finals appearances but lost both to eventual Stanley Cup champion Edmonton Oilers.


Mike Modano
 #1 overall draft pick of the 1988 NHL Entry Draft.
 by the Minnesota North Stars.