Sunday, December 19, 2010

Today in Hockey History - The NHL Begins

1917 - The first games of the new National Hockey League were played on this day. Five teams made up the league: Toronto, Ottawa, Quebec, the Montreal Canadiens and the Montreal Wanderers.

The National Hockey Association had suspended operations on November 22nd and the NHL was formed as its replacement.
Joe Malone scored five goals in a 7–4 victory for the Canadiens over the Senators on opening night; he finished the 1917–18 season with 44 goals in 20 games.

No comments:

Post a Comment