Saturday, February 19, 2011

Toledo Walleye Retro Night

Tonight the Toledo Walleye of the ECHL will celebrate its hockey history by wearing the jersey of the multi Turner cup champion Toledo Mercurys.

The Mercurys were the first IHL team outside of the Windsor Ontario area in 1947.
They were the first IHL team to win multiple Turner Cups as the IHL champion and the first to win consecutive Cups in 1951 and 1952.
The team folded after the 1961-62 season

No comments:

Post a Comment