Wednesday, March 17, 2010

1906 Stanley Cup

1906 - The Montreal Wanderers (above) win the Stanley Cup 12 goals to 10.

The inaugural season of the Eastern Canada Amateur Hockey Association saw the club finish with the same record as the Ottawa HC, meaning the two would have to play a two-game series for the championship.
The first game occurred three days earlier in Montreal, where the hosts would cruise to a 9-1 thumping of the visitors thanks to a pair of hat tricks by Ernie Russell and Frank Glass. The game was not only an upset of the Silver Seven, but also meant they would have to score eight unanswered goals just to tie in the most goals wins format.
Despite the unlikely odds of a comeback in Game Two, Dey's Arena was filled over capacity for the deciding rematch. The first half ended 10-4 Montreal thanks to a pair of markers from Ottawa's Frank McGee and another by teammate Harry Smith.
Smith opened the scoring in the second half, followed by Rat Westwick's own duo of tallies, making it a 10-7 game. Montreal's vanishing lead would soon outright disappear thanks to a natural hat trick by Smith, tying the series at 10 goals a piece and bringing the hometown crowd to their feet.
Unfortunately for the local fans, the Wanderers' Lester Patrick would score twice in the last minute-and-a-half, clinching the title for Montreal and putting and end to the Silver Seven's three-year reign as Cup champions.
Both the Toronto Globe and the Sporting News dubbed the deciding game of the series the greatest in the history of ice hockey up until that point.

No comments:

Post a Comment