Friday, May 7, 2010

Conn Smythe Trophy

The Conn Smythe Trophy is awarded each year to the MVP of the NHL Playoffs. First handed out at the end of 1964-65 Stanley Cup Finals. Each year it is given out just before the presentation of the Stanley Cup to the winning team by the NHL commissioner.

The only 3 time winner of the award is goaltender Partick Roy who won in 1986 and 1993 with the Montreal Canadiens and in 2001 with the Colorado Avalanche. The only 2 players to win in back to back years were Bernie Parent for the Philadelphia Flyers in 1974/1975 and Mario Lemeiuex with the Pittsburgh Penguins in 1991/1992.

The 2009 Conn Smythe winner was Penguins forward Evgeni Malkin for leading all players in scoring during the 2009 playoffs with 36 points (14 goals 22 assist). This was the highest point total since 1993 when Wayne Gretzky had 40 points.

No comments:

Post a Comment