Friday, May 6, 2011

The Ted Lindsay Award

The Ted Lindsay Award is in its 2nd year with the NHLPA and NHL.  Formerly the Lester B Pearson Award since its beginning in 1971, this was changed in 2010 to reflect the contribution to the founding of the NHL Players Association Union by Ted Lindsay, the legendary Detroit Red Wings player Ted Lindsay.  
The winner of this award is National Hockey League's outstanding player in the regular season as judged by the members of the NHL Players Association
The Award has been won the last 3 years by Alexander Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals.  Wayne Gretzky has won it the most times (5) followed by Mario Lemieux (4).

This year the nominees for the award are:

Corey Perry (Anaheim) - The 2011 Rocket Richard Trophy winner for league leader in goals
Daniel Sedin (Vancouver) - The 2011 Art Ross Trophy winner for league leader in points
Steven Stamkos (Tampa Bay) -2010 winner of the Hart Trophy as the league MVP.

No comments:

Post a Comment