Saturday, November 26, 2011

1980 Conn Smythe Winner

The winner of the 1980 Conn Smythe trophy as NHL Playoff MVP was Bryan Trottier of the New York Islanders.   The Islanders won the first of 4 consecutive Stanley Cups in 1980.   

The Islanders led by hall of famers Denis Potvin, Billy Smith, Mike Bossy, Bryan Trottier and head coach Al Arbor beat the Philadelphia Flyers 4 games to 2.  The Isles clinched the cup in game 6 as Bobby Nystrom scored the cup winner in overtime to give the Islanders a 5-4 win.

Trottier was number 6 in scoring for the regular season with 42 goals and 62 assist for 104 points.  Strangely none of the Islanders made the all NHL 1st or 2nd teams for the 1979-80 season.

Here is a link to Bryan Trottier's memories of the 1980 Finals.

No comments:

Post a Comment