Thursday, June 21, 2012

2012 NHL Awards

Last night in Las Vegas (again killing tradition) the NHL handed out its yearly awards, with most being first time winners.   

Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year) 
Ken Hitchcock -St Louis Blues (1st)

Ted Lindsay Award (MVP by the Players) 
  Evgeni Malkin - Pittsburgh Penguins (1st)

The Hart Memorial Trophy (Regular Season MVP) 
 Evgeni Malkin - Pittsburgh Penguins (1st)

Art Ross Trophy (Regular Season Most Points)
 Evgeni Malkin - Pittsburgh Penguins  (2nd win)

The Norris Trophy (Top Defenseman) 
Erik Karlsson - Ottawa Senators (1st)

The Frank J Selke Trophy (Top Defensive Forward
Patrice Bergeron - Boston Bruins  (1st)

The Vezina Trophy (Top Goaltender) 
Henrik Lundqvist - New York Rangers  (1st)

Calder Memorial Trophy (Top Rookie) 
Gabriel Landeskog - Colorado Avalanche

William M Jennings Trophy 
(goaltenders with least goals allowed) 
St Louis Blues 
Brian Elliott (1st) and Jaroslav Halak (1st)

The Lady Byng Trophy - (Most Gentlemanly Player)
 Brian Campbell - Florida Panthers  (1st)
(the first Defenseman to win this award since Red Kelly in 1954)

The Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy
 (Most Regular Season Goals)
Steven Stamkos - Tampa Bay Lightning  (2nd)

The Conn Smythe Trophy (Stanley Cup Playoffs MVP)
Jonathan Quick - LA Kings (1st)

No comments:

Post a Comment