Tuesday, April 5, 2011

The 2011 President's Trophy

The President's Trophy, which is presented by the NHL to the team that has the most points during the regular season, was awarded to the 2010-2011 Vancouver Canucks.  This is the first President's Trophy for the Canucks which are celebrating their 40th year in the NHL.

This is the 3rd straight year that it was a first time winner of the trophy with 2008-09 winner the San Jose Sharks, 2009-10 going to the Washington Capitals.

This is the 25th anniversary of the President's Trophy, the first being given after the 1985-86 season which was won by the Edmonton Oilers.

The most trophies, 6, have been won by the Detroit Red Wings (1995,1996,2002,2004,2006 and 2008)

No comments:

Post a Comment