Monday, April 12, 2010

William Jennings Trophy 2009-2010

This year the William Jennings Trophy went to Martin Brodeur of the New Jersey Devils. This 5th win for Brodeur who had previously won in 1997,1998,2003 and 2004.
The Jennings trophy is awarded each year to "the goalkeeper(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it. Winners are selected based on regular-season play." This was the rule for the Vezina Trophy until 1981, then with the addition of the Jennings trophy the Vezina was awarded to the Most Outstanding Goaltender as voted on by the NHL general managers.

Brodeur won the trophy this year giving up a league low 191 goals.

No comments:

Post a Comment