Wednesday, April 28, 2010

The Lady Byng Trophy (Sportsmanship)

The Lady Byng trophy which is given "to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability".

The 2010 nominees:

Pavel Datsyuk - Detroit RedWings - The 4 time defending winner of this award is going for his 5th consecutive Lady Byng. He would become the first player to win the award 5 consecutive years and second all time in Lady Byng Trophies behind Hall of Famer Frank Boucher who won it 7 times between 1927 and 1935.

Brad Richards - Dallas Stars - This is Brad's third nomination and he took home the trophy in 2004.

Martin St. Louis - Tampa Bay Lightning - this is the fourth time for Martin to be nominated, he has yet to win the trophy.

No comments:

Post a Comment